Mallards Earn Several MILL Awards

BERLIN- Worcester Prep’s boys’ varsity lacrosse team placed several players on the Maryland Independent Lacrosse League (MILL) All-Conference First Team when the post-season honors were announced last week.

The Mallards compete each year in both the MILL and the Eastern Shore Independent Athletic Conference (ESIAC). This season, the Worcester boys won the ESIAC championship, but fell to Calverton, 8-7, in the MILL title game despite a valiant comeback attempt.

When the MILL First-Team was announced last week, the Mallards were well-represented on the list. Named to the conference first team were attackman Alec Dembeck, midfielder Graham McColgan, long-stick middie Cooper Richins, defenseman Cole Berry and goalkeeper Hunter Gentry.

About The Author: Shawn Soper

Alternative Text

Shawn Soper has been with The Dispatch since 2000. He began as a staff writer covering various local government beats and general stories. His current positions include managing editor and sports editor. Growing up in Baltimore before moving to Ocean City full time three decades ago, Soper graduated from Loch Raven High School in 1981 and from Towson University in 1985 with degrees in mass communications with a journalism concentration and history.