Shockley Named Bayside Defensive Player Of Year

BERLIN- The All-Bayside Conference high school football teams were announced last week with several Seahawks named to the various teams.

Senior standout linebacker Ernest Shockley was named Defensive Player of the Year in the Bayside Conference and earned All-First Team honors. Joining Shockley on the All-First Team defense from the Lower Shore teams were linebacker Rodney Dawson of Parkside, safety Ty King of Bennett and punt returner Amonte Allen of Snow Hill.

Decatur tight end De’Quan Andrews was named First-Team All-Bayside Conference on offense. Joining Andrews on the All-Conference First Team on offense from the Lower Shore were running back Trajan Branch and offensive lineman Jose Vasquez from Parkside, along with Bennett kicker Stephen Oscar and Bennett all-purpose player Joey Geary.

Named to the All-Conference Second Team on defense from Decatur were defensive end De’Quan Andrews, defensive end Gus Esham and cornerback Darion McKenzie. Also named to the All-Conference Second Team on defense were Vasquez, Quillen Pompilius and Dajour Church from Parkside; Luke Prunty, Matt Chrysostome and Adam McCulley of Bennett and Josh Nichols of Wicomico.

Named to the All-Conference Honorable Mention team from Decatur were Tyre Henry, Cole Barrett, John Ford, Nate McIntyre, Andre Jordan, J. Engleshimer, Ed Zonnak, Juan Jooseen, Justin Mangiello and John Curtis.