Meekins, Parsons Earn Bayside South Honors

BERLIN- The Bayside South varsity baseball awards were announced this week with a pair of familiar rivals and future teammates taking top honors.

Stephen Decatur’s Justin Meekins was named Bayside South Player of the Year, while Parkside’s Hunter Parsons was named Bayside South Pitcher of the Year. There have been some intense battles between Meekins and Parsons in recent years as the Seahawks and Rams have been at or near the top of the conference standings.

Next year, however, the rivals will become teammates as both are headed to the University of Maryland where they will continue their baseball and academic careers. Parsons was drafted in the late rounds by the Cleveland Indians in last month’s Major League Baseball draft, but will play for the Terps next year along with Meekins.

Joining Meekins on the All Bayside South First Team from Decatur was University of Virginia-bound Grant Donohue, along with battery mate Zach Adams. Joining Parsons on the All Bayside South Team from Parkside were Jack Goertzen and La’bron Hilliard. Rounding out the All Conference First Team were Michael Jean Charles and Caleb Taylor of Bennett, Zach Adams and Teddy Batze of Snow Hill and Ben Davis of Wicomico.

The All Bayside South Second Team included Sean Colgan and Dillon Lane of Decatur; Joey Geary and Devynn Hancock of Bennett; Grant Burleson, Nick Forbush, Connor Shockley and Brady Shreeves of Parkside; Hunter Niblett of Mardela; Jared Hancock of Pocomoke; Derrick Smith of Snow Hill; and Jimmy Mansfield of Washington.