Seahawks Dominate Bayside South Awards

BERLIN- Stephen Decatur’s boys’ varsity lacrosse team dominated the Bayside South season awards announced this week with a coach of the year award and a pair of offensive and defensive players of the year awards.

The Seahawks went 10-2 in the regular season and captured the Bayside South title. With 15 seniors, the team dominated the Bayside South with its only losses of the season coming to Bayside North power Kent Island and Delaware powerhouse Cape Henlopen. Head Coach Scott Lathroum was announced as Bayside South Coach of the Year this week, while midfielder Corey Gwin earned Offensive Player of the Year honors and goalkeeper Will Hastings was named Defensive Player of the Year.

The Seahawks had players up and down the Bayside South awards and at nearly every position. Named to the All-Bayside First Team on attack were Jake Lathroum and Shane Moore. The first team attack also included Bennett’s Kevin Davis and Micah Brooks of Cambridge-South Dorchester.

Joining Gwin on the first-team all-conference midfield was Jackson Mumford along with Bennett’s Oakley Wise and Emory Wongus of Cambridge-South Dorchester. Decatur’s Dryden Brous was named the conference’s top face-off man, while R.J. Hayman was the Bayside’s top long-stick midfielder and Dalton Warren was the top defensive midfielder. Craig Snyder was named to the conference first-team defense along with Parkside’s Max Curry and Wicomico’s Joseph Woodley. Earning second-team honors for Decatur were attackman Evan Heim and defenseman Connor May. Earning honorable mention for Decatur were attackman Steve Alther and middie Matt LeCompte.