Seahawks Dominate All-Bayside South Teams

BERLIN- Stephen Decatur’s girls’ varsity lacrosse team was rewarded for a near-perfect regular season and a return trip to the state semifinals with a dominating presence on the All-Bayside South Conference teams announced last week.

The Seahawks went 14-1 in the regular season, their only loss coming to Cape Henlopen, 9-8. The Decatur girls repeated as Bayside Conference champions for the third year in a row and made a run to the state’s Final Four before bowing out in the semifinals with a narrow 11-10 loss to Oakdale. The remarkable season was recognized last week when the Bayside South All Conference teams were announced.

Nine of the 13 spots on the All-Bayside South First Team went to the Seahawks including Lexie VanKirk, Elle Barger, Peyton Townsend, Victoria Kerkovich, Rachel Florek, Jillian Mitrecic, Claire Porter, Christina Romano and Brigitte Ardis. Rounding out the first team were Alexis Taylor from Wicomico, Kaitlyn Morris from Parkside, Gabby Hoisington from Bennett and Jaibyn Hull from Bennett.

Seahawks named to the All-Bayside South Second Team included Sara Mitrecic, Chloe Sass, Logan Figgs and Kennedy Duke. Rounding out the all-conference second team were Brooke Webster of Cambridge-South Dorchester, Hannah Mascara of Parkside, Abby Roskovich of Parkside, Caitlyn Dunn of Bennett, Kayla Beale of Bennett, Dara Gregory of Bennett, Hope Shearer of Bennett, Karlie Hughes of Cambridge-South Dorchester and Ashley Pete of Cambridge-South Dorchester.

Decatur’s Logan Townsend was named All-Bayside South Honorable Mention. Also named to the honorable mention team were Emily Brohawn and Micah Slacum of Cambridge-South Dorchester; Mairin Jabagat, Kristen Ware, Jessica Dameus and Shelby Morris of Wicomico; Maura Mears, Ava Walter and Sarah Springer of Parkside; and Brooke Gardiner, Julianna Sterling and Jane Turner of Bennett.