Good Waves, Great Turnout For ESA Contest

Good Waves, Great Turnout For ESA Contest
simon hetrick

ASSATEAGUE- The Eastern Surfing Association (ESA) Delmarva District’s first surfing contest of the season last weekend at Assateague State Park was a big success with a great turnout, some new competitors and nice waves.

The conditions were nearly perfect for Delmarva ESA’s first contest of the summer season last Saturday at Assateague State Park. The association welcomed some new members and saw an increase in female competitors for the first time in many years. Local surfers from all over the region competed in a variety of age and skill level divisions.

Local Simon Hetrick took first place in several divisions. Hetrick was first in the open shortboard competition, while Robby Pinzhoffer was second and Shane Lally was third. Hetrick also took first in the Junior Men under-18, while Lally was second. In the boys’ under-16, it was Hetrick in first, Ben Carper in second and Ben McCabe in third.

In the Menehune under-12, Will Kelleher was first, Chazz DiDomenicics was second and Nash Rogers was third. In the girls’ shortboard under-12, Elsa Quillin was first, Julia Wess and second and Lilly Preziosi was third. In the Masters Shortboard, Clifton Rogers was first, Dustin Stokes was second and Chris Kennedy was third.

In the Senior Men’s, Alex Mitchell was first, Matt Naylor was second and Duana Dunlap was third. Keegan Mitchell took first in the Menehune Longboard, while Zach Koch was second and Robby Pinzhoffer was third. Shane Lally was first in the Junior Longboard, while Sam Fanjoy was second. Jill Cottingham took first in the junior women longboard and Jen Cox took first in the ladies’ longboard.

In the men’s longboard, Dustin Stokes was first and Clifton Rogers was second. In the open bodyboard, Duane Dunlap was first, Keegan Mitchell was second and Ben Skelly was third. In the boys’ menehune bodyboard, Robby Pinzhoffer was first, Ben Skelly was second and Tony Scaffone was third. In the girls’ menehune bodyboard, Isabella Preziosi was first, Julia Wess was second and Lilly Preziosi was third.