Decatur Wrestlers Win 7th Bayside Title

Decatur Wrestlers Win 7th Bayside Title

BERLIN- Stephen Decatur’s varsity wrestling team last week captured its seventh straight Bayside Conference tournament championship, sending five wrestlers to the finals in their respective weight classes and winning three individual titles.

The Seahawks finished with an impressive 230 team points in the Bayside Conference tournament to easily coast to its seventh straight championship. Parkside was second with 152 team points. Decatur was dominating in the tournament for the most part with five wrestlers reaching the finals and three winning their respective weight class titles.

Decatur’s Seth Goggin won the title in the 125-pound weight class, beating Colonel Richardson’s B.J. Greisen in the final on a technical fall. Bryce Smith won the individual championship at 160 pounds, beating Kent Island’s Kyle Thomas by decision in the final. Finally, Dylan Drew, who has been dominating all season, won the individual title in the 285-pound class, beating Cambridge-South Dorchester’s Jacob Muir by major decision in the final.

Two other Decatur wrestlers reached the finals before bowing out in title matches. Devin Bataille reached the finals in the 130-pound class before falling to Ben Culver of Easton. Similarly, Luke Bargar reached the finals at 215 before falling to Nick Hubbard of Cambridge-South Dorchester. Other top five finishes for Decatur included Nick McLoota, third place, 119; Josh Bargar, third, 152; Mike Meekins, third, 171; and Cobin Lohnas, fourth, 135.