Worcester Hands Out Spring Awards

BERLIN- Worcester Prep recently honored its spring sports student-athletes with an awards banquet during which several individuals were recognized for their outstanding efforts on the fields and courts this season.

All of the Worcester Prep spring sports teams enjoyed successful seasons this year and many of the standout individuals were recognized for their contributions. From the boys’ varsity lacrosse team, defenseman Stephen Pappas was recognized with a Most Valuable Player award, while goalie Peter Buas was named Most Improved and Austin Gerachis was honored with a Coach’s Award.

Worcester’s girls’ varsity lacrosse team was also feted with several individual awards. Goalkeeper Alex Lewis, who was strong in the nets all season, was named the team’s Most Valuable Player. Anna Townsend was named Most Improved while Katelin Talbert received the Coach’s Award.

The future looks bright for both the boys’ and girls’ lacrosse programs with highly successful junior varsity teams this year and those players were also recognized with awards. Walker Harrington was named MVP of the boys’ junior varsity team while Matteo Patera was named Most Improved and Jeff Andersen received the Coach’s Award. On the girls’ junior varsity team, Mary Clare Regan was MVP, while Olivia Massey won the Coach’s Award and Ellie Brown was named Most Improved.

Over on the tennis courts, the Mallard teams turned in successful spring campaigns this year and several individuals were recognized for their accomplishments. Christine Vosters was named MVP for the girls’ varsity team while Kelley Chandler was Most Improved and Mary Mazcko won the Coach’s Award. On the boys’ side, Ross Roessler was named MVP while Zac Moffit was Most Improved and Andrew Canakis won the Coach’s Award.

Several Mallard tennis players were honored with ESIAC Trophy’s including Molly Sims, Sami Taraila, Dominque Kunciw and Bethany Parks from the girls’ team, along with Parker McIntosh, Taylor Kern, Zach Schroeder and Brad Pedigo from the boys’ team.