Decatur Wrestlers Win Baysides Again

Decatur Wrestlers Win Baysides Again

BERLIN- Stephen Decatur’s varsity wrestling last weekend captured its sixth straight Bayside Conference tournament championship, sending seven wrestlers to the finals in their respective weight classes and winning two individual titles.

The Seahawks finished with an impressive 249 team points in the Bayside Conference tournament to easily coast to its sixth straight title. Easton was second with 204 points, followed by North Caroline (191), and St. Michael’s and Queen Anne’s (162) each. Decatur was dominating in the tournament once again, sending seven wrestlers into championship matches and collecting two titles, including Danny Miller at 189 pounds and Matt Doherty at 135 pounds.

Doherty defeated North Caroline’s Josh Bathras in his championship match, while Miller beat Trevon Johnson of North Dorchester. Five Seahawk wrestlers earned second-place finishes in the Bayside tournament including Corey Tobias, who fell to Lajuan Pack of Kent Island in the 130-pound title match; Bernie McGarry, who lost to Ben Markey of North Caroline in the finals in the 140-pound class; Josh Bargar, who lost to Stephen Seaufurt of Easton at 145; Danny Kominos, who fell to Nick Leto of Wicomico; and Dylan Drew, who lost his finals match to Matt Wade of Easton.

With two individual titles and five second-place finishes, the Seahawks easily cruised to their sixth straight conference title. Other notable finishes for Decatur included Bryce Smith (160) third place, Anthony LaBarck (112) fourth place, Mike Meekins (171) fourth place, and Nick McLoota (103) sixth place.

Next up for the high-flying Seahawks is the state Class 4A-3A East Region tournament that gets underway this afternoon. Decatur will be well represented at the regionals with 12 wrestlers participating. Danny Miller (191) is the lone number-one seed for the Seahawks and will face the winner of the 8-9 match in the second round.

Three Seahawk wrestlers earned two-seeds in the regional tournament including Bernie McGarry (142), who will face Josh Hill of Old Mill in the first round; Josh Bargar (147), who will face Josh Bittner of Wilde Lake in his opening round match; and Danny Kominos (154), who will face Victor Bustamente of Bel Air in his opener.

Four Decatur wrestlers earned number-three seeds in the Class 4A-3A East tournament. Tobias (132) will face Brady Massaro of Severna Park in the opening round; Doherty (132) opens with a match against Jack Reed of Broadneck; Meekins (173) faces Andrew Swank of North Harford in the first round; and Dylan Drew (287), will go up against Reservoir’s Josh Hamilton in the first round.

Bryce Smith (162) earned a number-four seed in the regional tournament and will face Dusty Thursby of Northeast in the opening round. In the lower weight classes, two Seahawks earned eight-seeds and one earned a number-nine seed in the regional tournament and will have to take a longer route to possible state titles. At 105, Nick McLoota is the eight seed and will face Cody Morrow of Northeast in the opening round. James McGarry is the eight-seed at 137 and will face Justin Kapoor of South River in the first round, while Anthony LaBarck is the nine-seed at 114 and will face Ethan Trinh of Wild Lake in his opener.