Filing Deadline Passes, Local Candidates Set

BERLIN – With the latest filing deadline passed, voters now know candidates for this year’s local elections.

Though a case involving legislative redistricting delayed the primary election and filing deadlines, candidates were required to file by April 15. Many of Worcester County’s races will be decided with the July 19 primary election. The general election is scheduled for Nov. 1.

For more information, visit

County Commissioners

District 1

Caryn Abbott (R)

Josh Nordstrom (D)

District 2

Catherine Freeman (D)

Diana Purnell (D)

District 3

Eric Fiori (R)

Thomas Gulyas (R)

Shawn Kotwica (R)

Tim VanVonno (R)

District 4

Nancy Bradford (R)

Ted Elder (R)

Jeff McMahon (R)

Virgil Shockley (R)

District 5

Chip Bertino (R)

Grant Helvey (R)

District 6

Richard Addis Jr. (R)

Jim Bunting (R)

District 7

Joe Mitrecic (R)

State’s Attorney

Kris Heiser (R)

Clerk of the Circuit Court

Susan Braniecki (R)

Register of Wills

Terri Westcott (R)

Judge of the Orphans’ Court

Mike Diffendal (R)

Linda Hess (R)

Cheryl Jacobs (R)


Jeffrey Buhrt (R)

Matt Crisafulli (R)

Board of Education

District 1

John Abbott

Bill Buchanan

District 4

Bill Gordy

Jamie Rice

District 6

Katie Addis

Nate Passwaters

District 7

Todd Ferrante

About The Author: Charlene Sharpe

Alternative Text

Charlene Sharpe has been with The Dispatch since 2014. A graduate of Stephen Decatur High School and the University of Richmond, she spent seven years with the Delmarva Media Group before joining the team at The Dispatch.