Town Manager Recognized With National Award

FENWICK ISLAND – Fenwick Island’s town manager has been recognized as one of the nation’s top 100 influencers in local government.

Last week, Engaging Local Government Leaders (ELGL) – a national organization for local government professionals – announced its winners for the 2018 Chris Traeger Award.

The annual list recognizes the top 100 influencers in municipal government. Among them was Fenwick Island Town Manager Terry Tieman, who ranked No, 72.

In an interview this week, Tieman said she was shocked at hearing the news of her recognition. She said Eric Norenberg, city manager for Milford, had nominated her for the award.

“I knew he had nominated me,” she said, “but I am still in complete shock that I would even be recognized for a national award.”

The Chris Traeger Award is named after Chris Traeger, a character on the television show “Parks and Recreation.” Traeger, city manager for fictional city of Pawnee, Ind., is known for his energy and commitment to improving local government.

The list of recognized leaders is not based on title or longevity, but rather an individual’s influence in their community or professional associations.

Tieman was hired to the role of town manager for Fenwick Island in January of 2017 following a six-month search. The position had been vacant since July of 2016, when former town manager Merritt Burke left to take a position with the Sussex County Association of Realtors.

Tieman formerly spent five years as town manager in Herrington, Del., and in the preceding years worked for the City of Dover, where she was the administrative services director and senior city administrator. In 2015, she was recognized as “City Manager of the Year” by the Delaware League of Municipal Governments.

Apart from her role as town manager, Tieman is the president of the Delaware Women Leading Government Chapter and president of the City Management Association of Delaware. In these positions, she has expanded training and networking opportunities for professionals in municipal government.

Local government professionals from across the country submitted a record number of nominations for this year’s Chris Traeger Award. ELGL members selected the top ten individuals on the list, while an ELGL Evaluation Team reviewed and selected the remainder.

“It was unexpected, but I am completely honored and humbled,” Tieman said. “I will certainly do my best to live up to the nature of this award.”

About The Author: Bethany Hooper

Alternative Text

Bethany Hooper has been with The Dispatch since 2016. She currently covers various general stories. Hooper graduated from Stephen Decatur High School in 2012 and the University of Maryland in 2016, where she completed double majors in journalism and economics.