Wednesday, October 22–Ocean City Council Election Results

OCEAN CITY – Two new, but familiar, faces will be joining the Ocean City Council after last night’s municipal election, one marred by low voter turnout.

Ocean City Mayor Rick Meehan, who was unopposed for another two-year term, secured 958 votes in his re-election bid.

On the council, there were four seats up for grabs with the terms of incumbents Jim Hall, Jay Hancock and Mary Knight expiring. Councilwoman Nancy Howard did not seek re-election after 12 years in office.

Hall and Knight were the top vote getters in the council race, securing re-election, while Doug Cymek earned 844 votes and Joe Hall 828 votes to earn council seats. Cymek had unsuccessfully sought a council in 1996 and 2006, while Joe Hall served on the council from 2000-06 before losing his re-election bid in 2006.

Here’s a look at the council race breakdown: Jim Hall, 917 votes; Knight, 858 votes; Cymek, 844 votes; Joe Hall, 828 votes; Brent Ashley, 776 votes, Hancock, 598 votes; and Sean Rox, 355 votes.

For a complete review of the election, see The Dispatch on Friday morning.

About The Author: Steven Green

Alternative Text

(The writer has been with The Dispatch in various capacities since 1995, including serving as editor and publisher since 2004.)