Decatur Players Earn All-Conference Awards

BERLIN- Stephen Decatur’s outstanding 2022 varsity football team was well represented when the Bayside Conference post-season awards were announced this week.

Decatur’s Luke Mergott was named Bayside Conference Co-Defensive Player of the Year, an honor he shared with Darius Foreman of Wicomico. It was the second time the Duke University-bound Mergott has earned the Bayside Conference Defensive Player of the Year.

Seahawks named to the All-Bayside First Team on offense included quarterback Brycen Coleman, slot receiver Gavin Solito, tight end Mergott, offensive lineman A.J. Trimble and placekicker Brogan Eastlack. Named to the All-Bayside First Team on defense were defensive end Mergott, safety Amarian Manuel, and defensive specialty player David Lockwood.

Named to the All-Bayside Second Team on offense were wide receiver Trybe Wise, offensive utility player Nate Tapley, kick returner Mergott, and both punter and punt returner Coleman. Named to the All-Bayside Second Team from Decatur were defensive tackle Kenny Spates, linebackers Solito and Daegan Risser, defensive end Azavion Manuel, and cornerback Tre Dorn. Earning all-conference honorable mentions from Decatur were Caden Shockley, Logan Bradshaw, Garrett Maloney, Justin Bailey, James Watkins and Sully Auker.

About The Author: Shawn Soper

Alternative Text

Shawn Soper has been with The Dispatch since 2000. He began as a staff writer covering various local government beats and general stories. His current positions include managing editor and sports editor. Growing up in Baltimore before moving to Ocean City full time three decades ago, Soper graduated from Loch Raven High School in 1981 and from Towson University in 1985 with degrees in mass communications with a journalism concentration and history.