Decatur Well-Represented In Conference Awards

BERLIN- Stephen Decatur’s varsity soccer teams garnered more than their share of post-season honors last week when the Bayside South awards were announced.

The Bennett varsity soccer teams dominated the Bayside South this year and were honored with many of the top post-season awards. For example, for the Bennett girls’ varsity team, Annabel Hoffman was named conference Player of the Year and Ed O’Leary was named conference Coach of the Year. On the boys’ side, Bennett’s Owen Peters was named Player of the Year, while Gabe Kane was named Coach of the Year.

The Decatur teams collected plenty of post-season honors after successful seasons this fall. For example, named to the girls’ Bayside South All-Conference First Team were Gabrielle Izzett and Alyssa Romano. Macy Dill was named All-Conference Second Team. Collecting All-Conference honorable mentions from Decatur were Mia Dill, Rachel Haskell, Isabele Kristick and Logan Townsend.

On the boys’ side, Decatur’s Drew Haueisen, Kevin Beck and John Karacoulakis were named to the Bayside South All-Conference First Team. Earning honorable mentions from Decatur were James Barrett, Brett Berquist, Kellen Catrino, Brady Ford, Evan Kinsey, Brooks Wingert and Hunter Wolf.

About The Author: Shawn Soper

Alternative Text

Shawn Soper has been with The Dispatch since 2000. He began as a staff writer covering various local government beats and general stories. His current positions include managing editor and sports editor. Growing up in Baltimore before moving to Ocean City full time three decades ago, Soper graduated from Loch Raven High School in 1981 and from Towson University in 1985 with degrees in mass communications with a journalism concentration and history.