‘You Made Berlin Proud, You Made Worcester County Proud’

‘You Made Berlin Proud, You Made Worcester County Proud’
The Worcester County Commissioners are pictured with the Berlin Little League 11-12 All-Stars. Submitted Photo

SNOW HILL – County leaders this week honored the Berlin Little League team that fell just short of reaching the Little League World Series earlier this summer.

The Worcester County Commissioners recognized the Berlin Little League 11-12 All-Stars on Tuesday following the memorable run in August. The team was lauded for its District 8 title and for winning the Maryland State Championship.

“You made Berlin proud, you made Worcester County proud and you made the state of Maryland proud,” Commissioner Bud Church said.

Coach Cameron McDonough recalled the team’s time in Bristol, Conn., and the pressure associated with tournament play. In spite of an early loss, he said the team came back strong and played well throughout the remainder of the tournament, much of which was broadcast on ESPN.

“These guys over the next five days showed everybody in the country who they were …,” McDonough said. “I think they carried themselves tremendously.”

Though he called the boys the most talented group he’d ever coached, McDonough said he was most proud of the team’s tournament sportsmanship award.

“I always thought I was a ‘win first’ dude but you know that was a very humbling thing,” McDonough said. “That was awarded to these guys and I was so immensely proud of that, more proud than of any banner that’ll ever fly in Berlin Little League.”

He said he and his players appreciated all of the support from the community, particularly from Church, who traveled to Bristol to watch the team.

Church said he’d enjoyed his trip, particularly since the team won the game he attended, and joked about how he’d spilled his popcorn in his excitement over one hit.

“I was like a screaming idiot yelling for you…,” he said. “Young men, this is something you’ll never forget. It was a pleasure for me to be there and I’m proud of you.”

Players honored included Owen Knerr, Alex Navarro, Gavin Solito, Kannon Cropper, Nate Berzonski, Briggs Pugner, Lukas Lorning, Adam Gardner, Waylon Hobgood, Case Tilghman, Ryder Swanson, Stephen Wade, Riley Calloway and Foster Smith.

About The Author: Charlene Sharpe

Alternative Text

Charlene Sharpe has been with The Dispatch since 2014. A graduate of Stephen Decatur High School and the University of Richmond, she spent seven years with the Delmarva Media Group before joining the team at The Dispatch.