Seahawks Score Well At Bayside Championships

BERLIN – Stephen Decatur’s varsity indoor track teams scored well at the Bayside Championship meet last week with both the girls and boys finishing third in the team standings along with some top finishes in individual events.

The Decatur boys finished third overall in the team standings with 62 total points, while North Caroline was first with 157 and Parkside was second with 103.

The Seahawk girls also finished third in the team standings with 60 total points, while North Caroline was first with 136 and Kent Island was second with 116.

On the boys’ side, Decatur’s Cameron James was eighth in the 1,600, while John Ford was ninth.

Avonde Purnell finished eighth in the 300, while Zach Bernal was ninth.

In the 3,200, Javier Hernandez finished third, while Jack Reimer was fifth.

Tyrese Milbourne finished fifth in the 500, while Alton Walker was seventh.

In the 55-meter hurdles, Decatur’s Ben Jolley finished seventh and Devon Michels was eighth.

In the 50-meter dash, Decatur’s Avonte Purnell was eighth while Fietroy Satoute was 10th.

Cameron James finished sixth in the 800, while Chance Coley was ninth.

In the relays, Decatur finished second in the 4-800, third in the 4×400 and sixth in the 4×200.

The Decatur boys excelled in the field events as usual. In the pole vault, Evan Haas was second, Hyunsoo Chun was third and Ben Jolley was fifth.

In the high jump, Wyatt Davy was sixth and Jack Reimer was 10th.

On the girls’ side, Alison Alvarado was 10th in the 1,600, while Christina Romano was eighth in the 300.

Emily Cook finished third in the 55-hurdles, while Adrianna Serpe was sixth.

Rachel Savage finished eighth in the 800. In the relays, the Decatur girls finished fourth in the 4×200, fourth in the 4×400 and fifth in the 4×800.

The Decatur girls continued to dominate the pole vault as they have all season. Katie Hofman finished first and won the Bayside championship, while Jillian Mitrecic was third.

In the high jump, Christina Romano also finished first to win the conference championship, while Malea Saunders was fourth and Bethany Williams was fifth.