Athletes Announced For Dew Tour Stop In OC

OCEAN CITY – The Dew Tour announced yesterday the line-up of athletes who are to hit Ocean City during the tour’s first stop in Ocean City, July 21-24.

AlliSports, owned by NBS Sports, is an action sports lifestyle brand that conducts events like the Dew Tour to connect fans with athletes and brands. Alli has announced the biggest names in skate and BMX that will be coming to Ocean City for the first time in the tour’s six-year history, participating in Skate and BMX Vert, BMX Park, and the Dew Tour’s first ever Skate Bowl contest.

Skate Vert athlete Shaun White has confirmed his participation in this summer’s competition, as well as, Pierre-Luc Gagnon, also known as PLG, is returning to defend his title as the 2010 Dew Cup champion.

Also, Andy MacDonald, Bob Burnquist, and Baltimore native Bucky Lasek will throw in their years of experience on the ramp along with the fresh performance of Pedro Barros joining the professionals. Other Skate Vert competitors are Marcelo Bastos, Sandro Dias, Rob Lorifice, and Adam Taylor.

A new group of athletes, Barros, Zach Miller, Alex Perelson, and Sky Siljeg, will join legends Burnquist, MacDonald, Chad Bartie, Rune Glifberg, Mike Owen and Josh Rodriguez in the Skate Bowl competition.

The BMX park course for the Pantech Open is designed by BMX legend Ryan Nyquist who will also be competing. Other BMX Park competitors are 16-year-old marvel Brett Banasiewicz, East Coaster and 2009 Dew Cup champion Garrett Reynolds, and reigning BMX Park champion Daniel Dhers, as well as Dennis Enarson, Patrick Casey, Scotty Cranmer, Mike Spinner, Gary Young and Ryan Guettler.

BMX Vert dominating athletes Jamie Bestwick, Simon Tabron, and last year’s Las Vegas champion Chad Kagy will be competing, along with Vince Byron, Austin Coleman, Steven McCann, Dennis McCoy, Jimmy Walker, Zackery Warden and Francisco Zurita.

The Pantech Open of the Dew Tour in Ocean City will feature all the above athletes in their featured sports category and will provide open qualifier competitions. The event will also feature a free live concert on the beach, the Festival Village and a surfing contest on Friday.

The Dew Tour consists of four major, multi-sport events spanning across the country, with a cumulative points system, more than $2 million in event and bonus purses, awarded at year-end based on overall tour standings. At the season’s end, the overall point’s leaders in the five categories — skateboarding, BMX, skateboard bowl, surf and freestyle motorcross –will be crowned year-end champions and awarded the respected Dew Cup.

As part of an Alli event, the competitions at each Tour event include the Festival Village, specialty competitions, and live music. The Dew Tour is broadcast live on NBC Sports, MTV, MTV2 and USA. The Dew Tour is also circulated on Fuel TV, Universal HD, and internationally on Eurosport, Fox Australia, Extreme Channel and Allarco Superchannel.