Decatur Wrestlers Claim 8th Straight Bayside Title

BERLIN- Stephen Decatur’s varsity wrestling team captured its eighth straight Bayside Conference tournament championship last weekend, topping runner up Parkside while collecting two individual meet titles.

The Seahawks finished the Bayside Tournament championship with 181 total team points to finish first. Parkside was second with 172 team points, while Easton finished third with 142.5 team points. For Decatur, last weekend’s conference tournament title was the eighth straight for the Seahawks.

Decatur’s Seth Goggin won the title in the 125-pound class, sweeping three matches before beating Snow Hill’s Terrence Blackwell in the title match. In the 152-pound class, Decatur’s Johnny Soghomonian swept four straight matches to reach the finals before beating Mardela’s Dre Crippen for the title.

At 171, Decatur’s Mike Meekins won four matches to reach the finals, but finished second after falling to Parkside’s Erick Miranda in the title match. Nate Rosenblatt was third in the 103-pound class, Alford Hardy was third at 130, Andrew Boradaille was third at 140 and Brandon Terlizzi was third at 160. Decatur’s Cody Bush was fifth in the 119-pound class, while Kaelan Patterson finished 6th at 145.