Seahawk Grapplers Take 7th Straight Bayside Crown

BERLIN- Stephen Decatur’s dominating varsity wrestling team continued to steamroll its opponents this week, collecting its seventh straight Bayside Conference title while preparing to send as many as a dozen individual wrestlers to the state championships next week.

Two weeks ago, the Seahawks collected their first-ever state dual meet championship despite moving up this year to Class 3A. This week, Decatur stayed on a roll, romping over the competition in the Bayside championships to earn their seventh straight conference title. The streak began in 2002, and with stellar underclassmen in practically every weight class, the Seahawks dominance could continue for awhile.

Four Seahawk wrestlers won individual championships in their respective weight classes including Devin Bataille at 103, Sean McGarry at 125, Skylar Snead at 135, and Danny Miller at 189. The four Bayside champs will be among at least 12 individual wrestlers from Decatur to compete in the state Class 3A tournament that gets underway next Friday in Cole Field House at the University of Maryland.

Last year at states, two individual Seahawks won the first and second state championships ever for the wrestling program including Miller, who was just a sophomore at the time. Miller will go back to College Park next week to defend his title. The other state championship for Decatur last season went to senior Trevor Rickett, who has since graduated. With a dozen individual wrestlers competing next week at states, the list of state champions for Decatur will likely grow.